Is Count Chocula gluten free?

Q. I heard Count Chocula is gluten free. Is that true?

Adam answers:

Strictly speaking, Count Chocula is NOT gluten free, but…

General Mills, the maker of Count Chocula, does NOT call the cereal gluten free, and the label stresses that it “May Contain Peanut and Wheat Ingredients”. So, if you want to be 100% sure there is no gluten contamination, don’t eat it. (General Mills does have cereals it labels “gluten free”, so this is a significant difference.)

On the other hand, if you look at the list of ingredients in Count Chocula, none of them specifically suggests gluten:

“Whole Grain Corn, Sugar, Corn Meal, Marshmallows (sugar, modified corn starch, corn syrup, dextrose, gelatin, red 40, yellow 5 & 6, blue 1, natural and artificial flavor), Corn Syrup, Rice Bran and/or Canola Oil, Cocoa Processed with Alkali, Salt, Red 40, Yellow 5 & 6, Blue 1 and Other Color Added, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Trisodium Phosphate, BHT Added to Preserve Freshness.”

If the chance of a small amount of gluten crossing you or someone else’s lips is not going to be terribly harmful, you could give a little Count Chocula a try, but don’t blame me or General Mills if anything goes wrong.